Academic update

National Sun Yat-sen University

Image via Wikipedia

A few things of note on the academic front:

  1. Had a chance to sit in on a couple very interesting guest lectures recently.  The first was by Andrew N. D. Yang, Taiwan’s Deputy Minister of Defense.  Dr. Yang was (and still is) a professor here at National Sun Yat-sen University, although it is tough with his day job as the MoD’s #2 to make it down to Kaohsiung regularly.  He came to lecture as a part of the “Studies in Chinese Foreign Policy” course I am enrolled in this semester.
  2. Dr. Lin Cheng-yi, a researcher at Taiwan’s Academia Sinica, was also recently here at NSYSU to talk about security issues related to the Taiwan Strait and the South China Sea.  This was as a part of my “National Security and Crisis Management” course.  He shared a lot of good websites for research related to these security issues, some of which I was already familiar with, but also some others that I had not seen yet.  I am going to update the blogroll with a few of his suggestions.

Beyond that, the time has come to engage the ‘ol grey matter on selecting a topic for my master’s thesis.  I’ve put a lot of thought into it, and I think I am going to go with examining the effect of the PRC’s growing anti-access / area denial (sometimes abbreviated A2/AD) capabilities on regional security in East Asia, specifically looking at the so-called anti-ship ballistic missile (ASBM).  I also considered looking at China’s growing “cyber” capabilities as another potential asymmetric warfighting capability, but in the end, I don’t believe there is sufficient material available in the public domain to properly research it.  My other interest, anti-satellite (ASAT) weapons, is really a small player in the asymmetric stable of weapons.  Therefore, I think I will study the ASBM.  Thoughts?

6 Responses to “Academic update”

  1. Tweets that mention Academic update « Facing China -- Topsy.com Says:

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Taiwanderful, Gary Sampson. Gary Sampson said: #FacingChina – Academic update: http://wp.me/pJ3EK-7E #NSYSU #ASBM […]

  2. Michael Turton Says:

    Seems to me the public domain issue will also be a problem for the ASBM. Why not do something on infrastructure for war, something few look at because weapons are sexier, but as the saying goes, amateurs study tactics, professionals study logistics. It seems to me that the road systems going up in the Himal to support China’s coming campaigns there would be worthy of a masters thesis, and just the ticket to fame and fortune when the war begins — punditing, being quoted, etc. Another topic might be the port system China is assembling through the string of pearls in the Indian Ocean basin…

    Michael

    • Tron Says:

      Michael, thanks for weighing in here. You raise some interesting ideas, and fortunately it’s not too late for me to consider them. I’ve seen some material on the Chinese naval expansion into the Indian Ocean, but not much about the road system you mentioned. Food for thought.

  3. John795 Says:

    Very nice site!

  4. Still in business « Facing China Says:

    […] talked in a recent post about deliberations over selecting a thesis topic.  I decided that the anti-access/area denial […]

  5. Leo Mccraight Says:

    I enjoy you taking the time to create this post. It is quite beneficial to me certainly. Appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

